The Way Home

Seven Magic Mountains

To day was our last day in Las Vegas. It was even not really a day in Las Vegas as we were heading back after breakfast. We made a short photo stop at the Seven Magic Mountains what some of you might remember from our trip last year. It’s not much of a detour and it’s a long drive back to the Bay Area so any time spend outside the car is good. It’s easy parking and a short walk to the sculptures.

There was some traffic due to an accident but luckily no dust storm this time.

The kids downloaded movies while we were listening to music and I made some progress on my knitting (a hat for my FIL for Christmas). Knitting is fine but I can’t read or I get car sick. I would love to listen to audio books or a podcast but we can’t seem to all agree on something – sigh.

Bakersfield is our halfway stop today. We were able to use Marriott points for both stays this time what made for a very affordable trip in that regard. Also: Bakersfield has an ALDI what got me very excited. It’s not quite the same as a German ALDI but I was happy enough shopping there. They had a lot of Christmas goodies I know and love from Germany like Gluehwein, Spekulatius cookies, Chocolate covered Gingerbread, Schogette chocolate and cinnamon stars. We also bought some more responsible snacks like cheese, humus, pita bread, crackers and yogurt.

Hopefully the drive tomorrow is equally uneventful and we make it home early enough so that I can do some grocery shopping for the week.

6 thoughts on “The Way Home”

  1. Safe travels, I hope you don’t hit traffic when you get back to the Bay Area. I’ve never heard of Aldi, I guess we don’t have any up here. I love stollen, which I can get at our local grocery store or at World Market. Who doesn’t want to eat a delicious treat meant to look like swaddled baby Jesus, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I heard about the comparison to a swaddled baby Jesus for the first time, but yes you are right, very delicious (in my opinion at least). Aldi is pretty common in Southern CA but for some reason did not make it up North yet. I am keeping my fingers crossed. It’s more affordable than World Market.

      Like

  2. I have not been to the Seven Magic Mountains but the sculptures are so pretty 🙂 I am glad you stopped on the way. And yay for stopping over in Bakersfield and getting to shop at ALDI. So exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seven Magic Mountains is very pretty and the desert light makes it even more so. It is nice to get out of the car on that drive. I wish there was an Aldi close by. At least there is Trader Joes, but I am so sad they nixed some of the German products they had (no more pretzel, sausage or cherries in a glass) but I take what I can get.

      Like

  3. I remember you mentioned the seven mountains last year and I found them fun back then. Nothing changed. They do look fun. I am wondering though. Is it an art project? In the middle of the desert? I mean giess ist is great canvas for the colors to pop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment