Around the house

I am doing NaBloPoMo this month. 30 blog posts in 30 days. Come join me. You can find the full list of participants over on San’s blog here #nablopomo2023

Elisabeth wrote about her favorite thrifted art pieces and she got inspired by Daria’s house tour who in turn had the idea after J’s blog post about house decor. Sorry, if there are other’s I missed. I am a bit behind on blog reading but hope to catch up over the Thanksgiving week. I really liked the idea, too and since San asked about my crafts I thought I’d go for it since it will show some of that,too.

We kept three of the pictures from the previous owners of our house. They liked to travel and museums and I especially like the big Van Gogh. It’s a poster they had put on a wood backing. I think the colors work really well.

The other one that is still up is this Milton Avery Poster also on a thick wood backing.

I do like to go to estate sales and this is where these moth are from.

Next up a couple of paintings I did with the kids when they were younger. These are in the hallway.

Same with this one.

And these two one of them made in school.

This one I put together with scraps from their earliest paintings. I just could not throw them completely away. What do you think of the pink bathroom tiles? I was not sure at first but they really grew on me.

The portrait is one my sister made of my mom and the hearts left and right I made with the kids when they were little.

This V was also done by my sister. It was a wedding present from her since I took my husbands last name and it starts with a V.

This mobile I made a while back. It’s mostly made of paper from ads we got in the mail. I like how the feathers move when the heating is on.

Can you tell I had a faze with macrame? I learned it in school and it was not that difficult to pick up again.

The sun was made by my niece.

One more macrame in the hallway.

This one I made just after we moved into the house. I always wanted to get on but so far I just could not decide what I want. The stars to the right of the mantle were also made by ad paper.

Another one in the dining room.

The top left is a print I got at some pint and the right a linocut print by a local artist. The owl I made when I painted with the kids. Owls always remind me of my grandma who collected them.

What brings me to the final one. It’s also a lincut print from Boarding All Rows. It was a present for my husband and I love looking at it. It always reminds me of the desert.

That’s it for today. It’s not all but it was so hard to get pictures today. It was a gloomy day in the afternoon since it was raining and we had the lights on early. Lots of reflections and shadows…

13 thoughts on “Around the house”

  1. I am blown away by all the beautiful pieces. And I am a bit sad that we dont have any art in our home (yet). I love the drawing of your mom. So beautiful. I also love. the idea of the triangle art pieces you used from your kids. What a fun way to keep them.
    And your macramĂ©s…. My attempt is half finished in the closet.
    I am also a fan of linocuts. Used to do some myself but never so elaborate.

    Thank you for sharing that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow, how wonderful. You have a lot of beautiful art pieces in your home – and so eclectic (paintings, framed crafts, macrame!) I love it. I especially love the last lincut print.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely pieces. My favourite are the one over the mantle, the picture right below that and the linocut, but they are all so beautiful and have great stories behind them, too. Like the V your sister made?! How special! And I love the kid art and macrame, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment